American Psycho to Broadway: There Will Be Blood.

americanpsycho

I'm gonna work out a lot, and then I'll pick up a few hookers. Doo-pa-dee-do.

Maybe the news about Broadway’s plan to bring Sleepless in Seattle and Spiderman from stage to screen has got me intrigued by the notion of Broadway adaptation–a task much more daunting than if it were the other way around.

I know the news came last September, but I am still pretty interested to see how producers plan to develop Brett Easton Ellis’ sextastic 80s murder marathon, American Psycho, into a Broadway musical. Is it pull off-able? I mean, it’s not like Shakespeare didn’t cover the stage in goopy, bloody goodness (aka Titus Andronicus) about 400 some years ago. so, what’s a little rapin’ an a muderin’ set to the dulcet tones of Robert Palmer and Huey Lewis, am I right?

Also, is there any chance Christian Bale will step back into Patrick Bateman’s expensive Allen-Edmonds shoes, and paint the town…red (meheheh)? Anyone who’s seen Newsies knows he can sing. Come to think of it, bring back Resse Witherspoon, too.

Let’s say yes, and hope for a Terminator-like meltdown on stage!

UPDATE 2/1/10:

Variety reported that Duncan Sheik (yes, Duncan Sheik) is writing the songs, and Big Love writer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa is playing…playwright.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “American Psycho to Broadway: There Will Be Blood.

  1. Mark says:

    Hi thanks for a great post. I’ll be back 🙂

  2. Rosie says:

    I love the title of this post, however, I think if Patrick Bateman were to scream out I’m gonna drink your milkshake… it might be a little more pervy. LOL

    Also I wonder if they are going to put the kitty ATM machine scene in the play… LOL… one of my favorite parts of the movie. 🙂

  3. […] Kid, etc.) and movie to Broadway ideas coming to pass (Sleepless in Seattle, Heathers, Shrek, American Psycho, Legally Blond, Spiderman) it really shouldn’t surprise me that a 10 year old movie has been […]

Leave a Reply

