Monday Musing: Dude Looks Like a Lady?

I was a little sad to see Ladies Week come to a close yesterday, and I couldn’t resist writing this little number. Think of it as a transitional piece: ¡ZRose25 and Junkie1’s favorite actors in drag!

In Hollywood, there are three sure-fire truths dudes should know before whipping on a dress, stuffing it with socks or fruits, and cramming their manly bits into some feminine fare: you better be a drag queen or have a really tough jam to get yourself out of. What’s the third? You will definitely be hit on by another man while gussied up. Now that the ground rules are out there, let me present a list of some of my favorites lady-men

The Three Stooges : Pop Goes the Easel
I have to say…of all the dudes dressing in drag, the Stooges have to be my favorite. Talk about commitment! I’m having a giggling fit just looking at this picture. Children… always clowning. (if you don’t get that reference, see the clip below)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Martin Starr : Freaks and Geeks
I would be seriously remiss if I left off Bill Haverchuck. Watch and wish illness on the person at NBC that axed this show!

Liev Schreiber : Mixed Nuts
The BEST holiday movie ever, and one of my top fave comedies period. There is just something so right about his husky, man voice that just fits so well in that LBD! Want more Liev in drag? Catch him as a blonde in this summer’s Taking Woodstock.

Johnny Depp : Ed Wood
Johnny could rock our socks in any way shape or form. Oh, Glenda, you stone cold fox!

Peter Scolari and Tom Hanks : Bosom Buddies
Sure some may say Some Like it Hot is the classic drag caper…for me, it’s Bosom Buddies. Who knew that Tom Hanks would grow up to be one of the most cherished actors of his time and the other would become… um….well… gee… I’m not really sure what happened to him. Sorry, Petey. On Buffy, on Hildegard!

Classic, but why is Scolari on a unicycle in the beginning? :

Honorable mention:


Hot!
Nia Vardalos and Toni Collette : Connie and Carla

So what if they’re women! Technically they were women pretending to be men dressed as women and living with other drag queens, so it must count. This particular shout out goes to Peaches & ‘n Cream–that’s two separate ladies. Let’s do the time warp, everybody: point & click

The Boys of
: To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything! Julie Newmar
Vida, Noxeema, and Chi-Chi…what can I say that the movie trailer doesn’t? What can I wish the trailer didn’t say: “John Leguizamo, the homeboy.”

Will Ferrell & Mike Meyers & Chris Farley : Saturday Night Live
Ferrell’s Janet Reno’s Dance Party (most impossible clip to find ever–here’s another), Meyer’s Coffee Talk, and Farley’s Zagats & Gap Girls are some of the best SNL skits of all time. Also, Ferrell forever changed The Knack’s My Sharona (“Oh, I’m on fire! I’m on fire! BUCKY WHERE’S MY TOWEL?!!!”).

John Candy : Who’s Harry Crumb
What says “undercover” better than a metallic pink dress and a wig with lights in it! No, no one will suspect a thing…Watch the trailer.

Kurt Russell : Tango and Cash
Two wrongly accused cops on the run split up to gather intel, but ::gasp:: one has to get past some clever police officers! Oh I know, throw on a wig and some sunglasses–that ought to do it.  Here’s a clip (note, bypass Terri Hatcher’s earnest “dance routine” and pick up at the 2:57 mark for Kurt)

Harland Williams, Barry Watson, and Michael Rosenbaum : Sorority Boys
Think Bosom Buddies meets Animal House gone horribly wrong. Three frat boys tossed out of their fraternity decide to go undercover in the college’s most unpopular sorority…MOTHER’S ASS! (This happens to be one of my go-to movies for funny/stupid one-liners) Watch the trailer

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Monday Musing: Dude Looks Like a Lady?

  1. Junkie1 says:

    Who knew Liev Schreiber had a giant Louise Brooks just dying to come out?! …I’m going to watch Mixed Nuts now.

  2. Moonsweetie says:

    I love your blog, but I must say I’m a bit disappointed that in today’s awesome post, your didn’t mention John Travolta playing the role of Edna Turnblad in the movie Hairspray. I feel that his role of playing the wife of Christopher Walken (Wilbur Turnblad) should at least deserve an honorable mention.
    Thanks for all the awesome clips!

    • Junkie1 says:

      Damn! It was in the original cut! Well, I like getting your input–we don’t need all of the glory. 🙂

  3. Jes says:

    Thanks! I’m glad it was in the original cut at least! I was also very happy that good old Wong Foo had a place in there. That movie was my first intro to drag…ever…
    😉

  4. Zrose25 says:

    I am sure there were a bunch that I forgot or couldnt find pictures for. If anyone thinks of any feel free to post them 🙂

Leave a Reply

