WTF Friday: The Harry Potter Problem

Junkie1, you are a fool.

I have a confession: I have never read any of the Harry Potter books, nor have I seen any of the Harry Potter movies.

Let’s back up and start here:
(a conversation between myself and Bucking the Wave‘s, Spitfire, between 3:03 and 3:13 this afternoon)

Spitfire: when are you going to HP?
me: Don’t kill me, but I think I should catch the first five
Spitfire: SHUT. UP.
me: I know! For shame, for shame…
Spitfire: have you at least read the books? how have you not seen harry fucking potter?????
me: Not seen, not read
Spitfire: i think i’m revoking your junkie card!!!! even though you invented the thing. I’M IN SHCOK.
I CAN’T EVEN SPELL
me: lol
Spitfire: i’m still trying to understand how this could be possible and i’m coming up blank. you hate wizards?
me: No…I just missed the boat…for many years. so, I guess I missed several boats
I’ve been to Oxford and seen where they filmed it, though. Can I have half a point for that?
Spitfire: GET ON THE BOAT!!!!!! THERE’S STILL TIME!!!! OMFG!!!!!!@
you haven’t read the book but you’ve been to where they’ve filmed it. my brain just imploded by the injustice of it all!
you get 1/2 a point for sure.
me: I hate to leave you in such a state, but I have to run…If you want you can write a 5 word “WTF, Junkie1” post today
Spitfire: it would take way more than 5 words. πŸ™‚

Apparently, it took 10 words, and here is what I got:

Spitfire: HOLY SHIT J1.Β  WHAT GIVES????? FORGET *QUINTOVENTION— TIME FOR *POTTER-VENTION!!!

Allow me to explain myself… ::crickets:: … Okay. I admit it. I have no excuse for the fact that this is the pinnacle of my Harry Potter exposure:


If you were to tell me today “Hey did you hear about that new book–it’s a coming of age story set in a wizardry school?” I’d say “Of course, I am Junkie numero uno, and I am SO there!” I guess I wrote it off as something for kiddies in the beginning and never looked back–I did the same thing for Twilight initially, too. I took the leap for the vamps (and loved it), so why not do the same for the wizards?

Here are my top five reasons for finally getting on the *broomwagon:

  1. Books! Reading is always welcome in my *addictosphere, and I have it on good authority that Ms. Rowling could mop the floor with SMeyer. (Source: Stephen King)
  2. Movies! How could I have abstained for so long knowing full well that three of my favorite crazies were in the cast (Helena Bonham-Carter, Alan Rickman, and Ralph Fiennes)?!
  3. Quality! The writing is good, the film directors are superb, the characters actually develop (both on the page and on screen). I hear all of the necessary elements are there. It’s supposed to be a win/win
  4. Whimsy! Ron Weasley. Hermione Granger. Albus Dumbledore. The names alone are enough to make me want to see/read. I think those in particular would be great mates for Chester Abernathy (my alter ego). AND they are wizards?! Wee!
  5. Fear of Death! Harry Potter fans make Twihards look like a ragtag bunch of pussies. ::cowering:: I’ll read and watch, you guys. I promise!

Without spilling all of the enchanted beans, what are your top reasons for A) why I suck and/or B) why I should be excited to get into the saga?

See one of these: * (that means the definitions are or soon will be up in the Junktionary)

*
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “WTF Friday: The Harry Potter Problem

  1. Junkie2 says:

    This is pretty much what I had written for todays post!!!

  2. zrose25 says:

    Hey dont feel too bad… I too have abstained from the Potter. But I have seen the puppet thing like 20 times πŸ™‚

    Ron Weasley!!!!!

    PS you have to finish the books I borrowed you first! πŸ˜›

    • Junkie2 says:

      It took me until book 4 to go out and read the series – I tried to abstain, got bored one thanksgiving weekend in high school and ended up reading all four books in four days and went bonkers waiting for the 5th to come out! My little cousin and I went to every midnight showing for all of the books. I would even buy the candy they created to match the books’ treats and we would dare each other to eat what could potentially be ear wax jelly beans!

      And I have never seen the puppet video until now – thanks for posting it!

      • zrose25 says:

        Yeah, I like finding series of books after most of them are already published. Then I can have all night read-athons until I am all caught up. But then the worst part about that is waiting for the next one. You should see my Amazon future release wish list πŸ™‚

  3. Junkie2 says:

    Dear Spitfire,

    That is a conversation I have had with J1 every time we’ve passed Harry Potter displays at movie theaters since MARCH. I was actually preparing this exact post when J1 asked if she could have today’s.

    I’ve threatened removing her Junkie title (as well as admin privileges!) if this is not rectified soon. That goes for you too Zrose! I’m bringing several copies of the first few books and movies to them this weekend. We will convert them if it kills us (or this blog ;).

    Yours in disbelief,

    Junkie2

    • zrose25 says:

      Lol… I think before you boot J1’s Junky title we better get J2 up to speed on Vamp movies… I am still pretty shocked that you havent seen some of the greats (and not so greats) int the vamp genre πŸ™‚

    • buckingthewave says:

      πŸ™‚
      THANK GOD. i’m glad one of the Junkies is on the HP train… (J1, we’re going to get you. get excited!)
      I’m watching movies 4 & 5 tonight to get pumped up for the premiere on Wednesday!! And HP just uttered one of my favorite lines from the movies: “I love magic.” because that’s exactly what I would be thinking every 12 seconds were I: a) not a muggle, and b) to attend Hogwarts.

  4. Junkie2 says:

    A) You suck for writting anything off as being for the kiddies! Have you read “The Chronicles of Narnia”? Or the “Golden Compass” books? Most of my favorite books are from elementary school or things I have read to the boys I babysit for. “A Dog Called Kitty” by Bill Wallace, “Love That Dog” by Susan Creech, “Snot Stew” by Bill Wallace, “So Far From the Bamboo Grove” by Yoko Kawashima Watkins, ok ok anything by Bill Wallace. And what about the choose your own ending books? I can’t believe you read S. Meyer before J.K. Rowling! Meyer has a way of creating amazing characters, but Rowling not only creates characters you care about, but has the writing chops to back her books’ popularity!

    B) You? Definitely whimsy. Luna Lovegood, wizard’s chess, Hagrid, magical creatures, oh and poor Neville Longbottom! Too many to list that’s for sure. And as a bonus the books are also a bit of a social commentary on prejudice based on socio-economic status and “race” (pure blood wizard vs. mugblood (half human/half wizard) or muggle – of a non wizard family) and the heroine of the books is also an activist against slavery of a certain magical creature.

  5. Junkie1 says:

    Thanks for the insights, but I have two points…to point out:

    1. Choose your own ending, books, C.S. Lewis, et. al. These are things that I love now and loved when I was a kiddie. Also, I still love things “for kiddies”–I shouldn’t have written the sentence that way. It’s just that at the time HP became popular I was not interested. I don’t write kiddie things off, I wrote this particular one off (a long time ago, btw).

    2. Like I said, I missed the boat. Let’s not get too carried away with the haranguing of J1. My post is about how I acknowledge that I have missed that boat, and that I am willing to get on board. I like to either be ahead of the pack or lightyears behind it, never with it–that feels too forced.

    It’s all good in the hood.

  6. Junkie2 says:

    I’m excited for you πŸ™‚

  7. Eralc Alegna says:

    Well maybe y’all can kill two birds with one stone, because I apparently am I need of a Quintovention AND Pottervention.
    I’m with J1 – I realize it was probably a poor decision but I wrote it off early as a kid thing and never bothered to look back.
    I guess I shoudl reconsider my Twilight grudge too then?

Leave a Reply

