Sunday Sundries: Whip it! [Whip it good!]

We're just waiting for a problem to come along.

We're just waiting for a problem to come along.

You know how I like to roll, right? Via music references and puns! What could possibly garner me the coveted two birds/one stone scenario? Hmm…I say Whip it! (see what I did there with the Devo and the movie title? …puns, heh)

Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut certainly promises to deliver more than my fleeting glee over that last sentence (heh, still funny). Check ye olde trailer and then hit me up below:

Of course I know that whipping is an actual roller derby technique (using your momentum to propel your teammate forward), so let’s get straight, go forward, and move ahead (okay no more Devo, I swear). Imagine my joy of joys when I learned of Ms. Barrymore’s plans all those many moons ago?! Fishnets, would-be pinups, and violence! Okay! Allow me to define the “wee” factors:

The Director! I love to give props to female directors, and I love Drew Barrymore. Sounds like a win/win to me.

The Cast! So you’ve got your Ellen Page, Drew Barrymore, Marcia Gay Harden, Eve, Kristen Wiig, and Jimmy Fallon. None too shabby. But let us not overlook Juliette Lewis, Alia Shawkat (¡! Arrested Development), Ari Graynor (¡! Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist, Fringe), and Daniel Stern (?!). Yeah, Mr. Sticky Bandit himself. Also rolling in are musicians Landon Pigg and longtime Barrymore bff and Minnesota-native, Har Mar Superstar (who happens to be awesome, btw).

The Subject! Roller derby is pretty frickin’ sweet. I have been to the rink a few times, and it is a wild ride, indeed. The fans are crazy, the fashion is insane, and the bouts are frighteningly kick-ass (oh yeah and you can come upon a wicked halftime hoedown if you’re lucky, too).

The names! The best part–it’s pun-tastic! In this film you’ll meet Smashley Simpson (Barrymore), Rosa Sparks (Eve), Malice in Wonderland (Wiig), and Eva Destruction (Graynor). I have called myself dibs on becoming one Punky Bruiser or perhaps Julia Wild Child. Little Junkies contributor-friends ZRose25 and Spitfire called Tina Flay, Stabanie Meyer, Cruella de Kill, and Bite-Me Spears. (*Note: I came up with some wicked celebrity-based names in the Comments below!)

Need a little help coming up with your own derby name? No worries, for Junkie 1 delivers Mia Psycho’s Roller Derby Name Generator! For more derby goodness check out the official Whip it! site for links to real bout videos, roller derby teams, and more. Or read Fracture, a majorly comprehensive online roller derby magazine.

Whip it! will be in theaters October 9th, and subsequently, so shall I. In the meantime, you can either get your derby on live at RollerCon 2009 or watch one of my favorite shows: Psych (snubbed by Emmy once again! >:/). Season 3 is out on DVD Tuesday, and you can find the delightful “Talk Debry To Me” just seven episodes in (see Psych‘s Maggie Lawson below)! Oh yeah, and find a derby match in your hood this September!

Watch Psych or I'll clobber ya!

Watch Psych or I'll clobber ya!

Like when ladies rule the entertainment industry? Me, too. Check out some of our old posts from Ladies Week for a little grrrl power, as it were.

Update!

Reader, Eralc Alenga noted the un-punworthiness of Mia Psycho’s name generator. I see that call, and raise you my brain’s meager attempt to pun some derby names for you:
Evil Mendes
Audrey Heartburn
Uzi Thurman
Sinead O’Clobber
Angelina Stoli or Gasolina Joltie
Judi Wench
Kate Wristslit
Gore-a Croft
Jane Accost ‘em
Sylvia Wrath
Gwen Rough on thee
Cobra Winfrey
Evangeline Killy
Maimie Lee Curtis
Megan Shocks
Heidi Kaboom
Kristen You’ll Hurt
Scarelett Johansson
Scary Hatcher
Ellen Degenerate
Keira Fightly
Demi Roar
Beyonslay
Tyra Shanks
Agent Pain-a Skully
Kicky Long-rocking or Whippy Thong-mocking

Damn, I’m on a roll. I’ll stop, but ask for more and I shall deliver ;P

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Sunday Sundries: Whip it! [Whip it good!]

  1. Junkie1 says:

    And then there’s Maula Abduel.

  2. Eralc Alegna says:

    I’m in awe of your brilliance.

  3. Jes says:

    One of my college friends just made it on the NorthStar Roller Derby team 🙂 Her name: Aurora Whorealis! I’m soooo watching the whole season this year! I’ll probably see the movie too. Yeay Roller Derby!

  4. Jerrica says:

    How often do you write your blogs? I enjoy them a lot!

  5. Panic Attack says:

    lol a number of the remarks bloggers post are a bit spacey, once in awhile i wonder whether they scan through the pieces of content and threads before putting a comment or whether they only gloss over the article title and write the first idea that jumps inside their mind. anyway, it is actually helpful to search clever commentary from time to time in contrast to the same, old opinion which i quite often notice on the net.

Leave a Reply

