Monday Musing: These pretzels are making me thirsty.

Mmm...s'ghetti!

It’s yet another special themed week here at Little Junkies…you might even say I have a few treats in store. Okay, so now you might actually be saying “what the hell is wrong with Junkie1?!” Allow me to clarify: In honor of the sure-to-be-great Julie & Julia release this Friday, I have dubbed this week: Food Week! I am taking over, and plan to regale you with my collection of the most delish bits of entertainment over the years. I’ll probably need someone to stop by to periodically wipe the drool from my face.

I’m not all linen cloth and 5 stars either. Sure, there are the schmany classics like Babette’s Feast, Tampopo, Eat Drink Man Woman, and Like Water for Chocolate. All iconic and scrumptious in their own right, but I am more interested in random, yet visceral, reactions to food in the movies. Some of the week will focus on food-related movies, but today I thought I’d start off with some drinks and appetizers or the food in movies that always makes me hungry–the things like those delightful little “Eat Me/Drink Me” bits in Alice in Wonderland and how almost every episode of Ducktales makes me want hot dogs, bubble gum, and hot chocolate! I’ve never really had White Castle, but I desperately want some after watching Harold and Kumar pine for it for 88 minutes. It’s like a delectable sneak attack!

Let Yum-fest ’09 begin (note if you haven’t seen some of these, you should):

The Big Lebowski
Cravings: In & Out Burger, bar nuts, lingonberry pancakes, Pigs in a Blanket, and White Russians

The Imposters
Cravings: fresh bread, tea, cream puffs, a “cornucopia of delicacies,” giant martinis, and entire trays of hours d’overs

The Blues Brothers
Cravings: Shrimp cocktail, 3 whole chickens, dry white toast, and orange whips

Pineapple Express
Cravings: Suckers, Fruit Roll-Ups, birthday cake, and red slushies

The Breakfast Club
Cravings: Sushi, bag of chips, bag of mini-donuts, 3 turkey sandwiches, a pint of milk, oh and a banana…and an apple, pixie sticks, Cap’n Crunch, and PB&J with the crusts cut off

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Cravings: Eggs and sausage (via trolley), toot sweets, lollipops

The Mirror Has Two Faces
Cravings: Burger and a side salad…with extra dressing, Snow Balls, and crudites.

Moonstruck
Cravings: Bread!!!!!!

The Goonies
Cravings: Pizza, ice cream, and Baby Ruth

Repeat Offenders: I don’t know what it is about Julia Roberts and Meg Ryan, but I always want what they’re having!

Julia Roberts:
Mystic Pizza makes me want…Mystic pizza and sea food; I Love Trouble makes me want a BLT on whole wheat; hold the bacon, hold the mayo; America’s Sweethearts brings on the scrambled eggs and Julia’s massive shame breakfast towards the end of the movie is to die for (butter!); and speaking of breakfast and Julia, Pretty Woman always makes me want mini sliced bits of bar fruits, croissants, and sorbet.

Meg Ryan:
The majority of her quirk in When Harry Met Sally comes from the way she meticulously orders her food, and by the time she’s done describing it (and the litany of alternatives if her desires cannot be met) you want it too. Also, I don’t care how gross it is to watch young Harry spat grape seeds on Sally’s window, I gots to have me some grapes after I see that. (what were you expecting a sandwich orgasm reference? If you think I didn’t provide, then you missed it). In French Kiss you get the particular food stylings of Ms. Ryan + French cuisine. C’est magnifique! I want to try all four hundred and fifty-two ways of classifying what is basically a bacterial process (aka cheese) despite the…LACTOSE INTOLERANCE. I would like a bit of “a bold wine with a hint of sophistication and lacking in pretension,” too. And who doesn’t want to eat some fresh pretzel, an NYC hot dog, or some damn garnish after watching You’ve Got Mail or some strawberries on toast (served by Hugh Jackman of course) after watching Kate & Leopold? Hell, I could even go for some fresh, creamery buttah.

What are your favorites?

Want more Food Week? I thought you might —> click me!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Monday Musing: These pretzels are making me thirsty.

  1. Zrose25 says:

    Dang you! I am so hungry now! 😛 I Cant wait for tomorrow’s post!

  2. Zrose25 says:

    OMG! I want strawberries and toast served by Hugh Jackman!!! Who do i call to get this ordered up? 🙂

  3. Jes says:

    Chocolat with Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp!

  4. Junkie1 says:

    I fraking forgot to mention how The Importance of Being Earnest makes me crave English muffins in the worst way, or how each viewing of Grease makes me crave diner food and that damn dancing hot dog from the drive-in. Also, I don’t know what eff they’re eating in Hook but I’ll take two, please!

  5. Super Mon says:

    You know I love the Food Week idea. I am seriously thinking of giving up the feminist blog in favor of food. I just get mad at all the sexist jackasses anyway, but food makes me so happy!

    Some movies (in addition to your list) that will make your mouth water:

    Ratatouille

    Mostly Martha

    Dinner Rush

    Big Night

    The Scent of Green Papaya

    The Barefoot Contessa

    Tortilla Soup

    Tampopo

    Fried Green Tomatoes

    Some movies that will make you view the way you eat in a whole new light:

    Super Size Me

    Fast Food Nation

    Food, Inc.

    The Cook, The Thief, His Wife & Her Lover

    Also A Christmas Story has two a billion great food scenes, especially at the end when they’re in the Chinese restaurant. It’s my favorite!

    • Junkie1 says:

      Consider my tummy to be a-grumblin, Mon! You’ve scooped me on a few films I plan to sprinkle throughout the rest of the week, but there are more than a few I’ll have to check out for myself! Thanks for the list. Yay for food!

  6. spitfire says:

    Pretty Woman makes me want champagne and strawberries!

    and alllll of the HP movies make me want: pumpkin juice, butter beer, and to eat in their dining hall.

    • Junkie1 says:

      I’ve been in that dining hall (and not just in my dreams)! Also, good point about Pretty Woman…mmm, strawberries and champagne!

  7. Super Mon says:

    And, get ye to a White Castle, post haste. It’s a Minnesota tradition! Bring Tums!

  8. Eralc Alegna says:

    Totally non-specific, but any large family/holiday meal with a giant roast turkey sitting in the middle of the table just kills me!
    Ditto period pieces where men in animal skins or armor are eating giant legs of somethingorother and drinking out of steins

  9. […] Monday Musing: These pretzels are making me thirsty. « Little JunkiesMystic Pizza makes me want…Mystic pizza and sea food; I Love Trouble makes me want a BLT on whole wheat; hold the bacon, hold the mayo; America’s Sweethearts brings on the scrambled eggs and Julia’s massive shame breakfast towards the … Read more […]

Leave a Reply

