That Sucks Thursday: Looming US Release Dates!

Solomon Kane

You know what really gets under my skin…great looking movies with TBD release dates in the US. Lately, I have been obsessing about one movie in particular after I was lucky enough to attend the panel at the San Diego Comic-Con this year: Solomon Kane (sandwiched between panels for LOST and Iron Man 2).

Solomon Kane is about a warlord faced with an ultimatum, kill anymore and go to hell. So he turns his life around and for a time finds peace, then evil finds its way into the life he had built for himself and he must fight again. The movie is adapted from the pulp adventure stories written by Robert E. Howard, who is widely recognized as the father of the Sword and Sorcery genre. And let me tell you, the clips they shared at SDCC looked a-ma-zing! When the director, Michael J. Bassett, said they hoped brining the film to Comic-Con would drum up enough interest in the US to secure a distributor, I was a bit surprised. How is it that a movie that looks this good is struggling to be released when we have movies based on video games and toys coming out by the dozens? Not to mention the unnecessary sequels and remakes that are being thrown at us. ::cough:: Dr Doolittle (1-3) ::cough:: That, my friends, is what sucks.

Junkie 1 pointed out another good example, Dorian Gray starring the likes of Ben Barnes (Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian) and Colin Firth (Pride and Prejudice, Bridget Jones, Love Actually…and many more of our favorites). I’ll let the trailer speak for it self: watch it here. Again this movie looks pretty darn good… yet, still no word on a US release. What is wrong with the people in charge!?

It makes me wonder what other movies are out there that I am completely missing. Anyone out there have any hot tips for me?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “That Sucks Thursday: Looming US Release Dates!

  1. Junkie1 says:

    So hot! Yet another thing we can thank Antonio the Great for getting us into! Also, I am indeed SO into that Dorian Gray. I want to go there.

  2. Tymila says:

    Are there any wordpress blogs that posts books online, like Dead until Dark?

  3. Iron Man 2 says:

    I loved the first Iron Man movie. I am excited for Iron Man 2! This movie and the soundtrack with AC/DC are going to be awesome! I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

