WTF Friday: Single Season Soliloquy

Don't. Don't You Want Me? You know I cant believe it when I hear that you wont see me.

Why do I do it? Better yet, how do I continue to do it? The “it” in question being falling for television series that are doomed from the start. Arrested Development, Freaks & Geeks, Pushing Daisies, Keen Eddie, John Doe, Miss Match, Veronica Mars, Firefly, Andy Richter Controls the Universe, The Tick, Jack of All Trades… Hold on, I need a minute. Oh crap. Maybe I curse good shows by watching them?! No wait, I’ve never seen any of Dead Like Me yet. Crisis averted.

Well, here I go again. I just got the first disc of the first (and only) season of Moonlight. I had only loosely heard of the premise–like unraveled floss loosely. Okay, I really had no idea what it was about, until my vampire-o-meter went off. Anyway, imagine my delight to find out the main character, Mick St. John (Alex O’Loughlin), was not only a vampire but a private investigator to boot! Aaaaaand there are great noir-ish style voiceovers (and he might be super hot, too)! Bonus! Underworld franchise, vampire alum Sophia Myles & Veronica Mars sweetie man, Jason Dohring round out the main characters!

Alas, not only is this WTF moment-worthy because there is only one season, but like a fool, I only got one disc from Netflix! Woe is me! Normally, there is an epic battle for #1 Position status with my shared Netflix account, and the queue is expertly planned out to provide maximum entertainment payout. WTF is wrong with me?! More importantly, WTF is wrong with all of these networks giving up on shows too soon?! Gaa. I guess I’ll just have to cherish the remaining episodes…when they arrive ;(

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “WTF Friday: Single Season Soliloquy

  1. zrose25 says:

    Lol… at least we hopped on the Moonlight train after it came to DVD. Better than waiting week after week for episodes only to have some jackass at the network cancel it so they could put another stupid reality show on. Come on! I dont need to see another season of stinky sweaty dbags surviving anything!

  2. Junkie2 says:

    I remember when this show came out I watched 4 episodes as they aired and then broke up with it before it could break my heart…if I remember right fans revolted big time. It nearly came back, but I think the fans of Jericho ruined internet revolutions by getting their show back and then not watching it!

    Have people learned nothing from Family Guy? Speaking of, their return from cancellation episode where they call out Fox by listing all the shows that “replaced” Family Guy after it was canceled that were also canceled is probably the exact moment I fell in love with Seth MacFarlane:

    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyxO0558KG0)

    Peter: “Everybody, I’ve got bad news: We’ve been canceled”

    Lois: “Oh no—Peter, how could they do that?”

    Peter: “Well, unfortunately, Lois, there’s just no more room on the schedule. We’ve just got to accept the fact that Fox has to make room for terrific shows like Dark Angel, Titus, Undeclared, Action, That ’80s Show, Wonderfalls, Fastlane, Andy Richter Controls the Universe, Skin, Girls Club, Cracking Up, The Pitts, Firefly, Get Real, Freakylinks, Wanda at Large, Costello, The Lone Gunmen, A Minute With Stan Hooper, Normal Ohio, Pasadena, Harsh Realm, Keen Eddie, The $treet, American Embassy, Cedric the Entertainer, The Tick, Louie and Greg the Bunny.”

    Lois: “Is there no hope?”

    Peter: “Well, I suppose if all those shows go down the tubes, we might have a shot.”

    • Junkie1 says:

      Dude, how could you break up with it right when the sexual tension was about to (forgive the pervy-soundingness) climax?!

      I am hooked on the DVDs so there’s no chance of heartache, unless there is a cliffhanger season finale in my future.

  3. spitfire says:

    the tick and the lone gunmen are two other heartbreakers.
    why do they do this to us??

  4. zrose25 says:

    Hey did you see that Entertainment Weekly did a similar list this week… you are so ahead of the curve! 🙂

Leave a Reply

