That Sucks Thursday: The Vampire Diaries

We'll take three tickets on the bandwagon, please.Sorry, peeps. I try hard to not pass insta-judgement on a tv show, but this one sucks (and no, there is no pun intended).

I couldn’t give two poos about any of the characters, and I predicted every one of their movements before they made it. If they can’t maintain any mystery for one hour, what hope could I possibly have for the remainder of the season.

Instead, I’ll stick to my grown-up vamps on True Blood, and look to the Twilight gang when I want some soapy romance. To be honest, Diaries’ premier hardly worked up a sud. Also, Boone (may I call you Boone, Ian Somerhalder?), Nestor Carbonell is the only LOST-y that can get away with the “natural” eyeliner look. Oh, and you should tell Paul Wesley he’s the oldest looking high schooler since Luke Perry.

I’m jus’ sayin’…it’s a classic case of too little, too late.

Want more on vampires? Chew on this.

Tagged , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “That Sucks Thursday: The Vampire Diaries

  1. supercherry says:

    Ew, Boone? My LEAST favorite Lost character. He’s so the OC or Dawson’s Creek or whatever WB. That sucks that you had to watch this shiz.

  2. Zrose25 says:

    True dat… I miss Moonlight. 😦

  3. Junkie2 says:

    Ah common’ it’s based on a young adult novel and made for the CW network – it could never live up to True Blood. Predictable yes, but I feel vested enough in the main characters relationship to give it a go for episodes two and three.

    • Junkie1 says:

      Whoa! Someone might interpret that as J2 saying CW né WB shows aren’t in the same league as the big kid networks. Veronica Mars is rolling in her LeBaron right now.

      Besides, I compared it to Twilight, too. Another high school romance that was far more engaging than the two snoozepires they have leading this craptacular. I mean, Gossip Girl‘s Chuck Bass makes a better vampire, and he wears polka dots for Dracula’s sake!

      It may not be the worst show on tv, but it is boring, sluggish, and resting far too comfortably on the popularity of it’s genre to garner interest…and this is coming from someone that stuck it out through the entire season of Harper’s Island.

      • Tracy says:

        CW is not able to be in the same league as HBO. Smaller budget, different target audience and that stupid little thing called the FCC.

        I just think it’s worth a second or third look like all new shows. Vampire Diaries is at a disadvantage having to start in the shadow of Twilight (and that movie blew and was just as predictable and had way too much angst-thank God for a new director) and True Blood. It also has to juggle being it’s own entity and being a part of something larger than itself (the book).

        I feel the same way about Melrose this year, first episode wasn’t the best episode in the world – but I’m intrigued enough by the characters to see whether they find their groove or not throughout the first season. Hell, I still commit to my comment this spring that if I hadn’t had the option of watching True Blood back to back I probably would’ve ditched it 3 episodes into the first season. But they found a nice stride and a voice of their own somewhat separate from Ms. Harris – and now I just can’t stop watching.

      • Junkie1 says:

        True Blood and Twilight have to live in the shadow of the likes of Bram Stoker and Anne Rice, too. Vampires ain’t new, and these ones…suck.

        On a side note, I think you are a bit harsh on Twilight. The phrase “teen angst” was coined for a reason, and predictable? Perhaps because we all read the books (multiple times in some cases) before the movie was released and Hardwicke did a decent job sticking to the book…

        If you want to go the indie-movie route (which they did, initially, until they got greedy, hired a man and amped the CGI) and hire a director that can actually capture teen melodrama in an intelligent and respectful way (which they did), then don’t get upset when she does her job well given she was working off of religiously swathed source material (which she did). Are you honestly trying to tell me the “saga” didn’t have equal servings of angst, if not more? I also am a bit shocked to hear you’d give a Melrose Place reboot more of a chance than True Blood. They had an original voice from the start. My thought is, if you are going to play in a genre, you have to be original, respectful to your predecessors, and sharp. This show basically brought a Nerf dart to a gun fight. It’s bandwagon garbage. That’s not to say the books are, but the tv iteration certainly is…

      • zrose25 says:

        Awwwh I miss Harper’s Island… 😦

  4. zrose25 says:

    Come on.

    Good writing is good writing, and it doesn’t have to have a massive budget or copious amounts of sex, swearing, and violence to be good either. Veronica Mars is a great example–as is Moonlight, Friday Night Lights, 30 Rock, Freaks & Geeks, Pushing Daisies, Arrested Development, and even Star Trek: TNG! All network tv. All different audiences. All brilliant. All worth my time.

    Continuing to support fluff is what gets quality shows canceled.

  5. Antonio says:

    I think I walked out of the pilot episode when they premiered it at Comic Con. It was boring.

  6. […] I try hard to not pass insta-judgement on a tv show , but this one sucks (and no, there is no pun intended). I couldn’t give two poos about any of the characters, and I predicted every one of their movements before they made it. …Read More […]

Leave a Reply

