My Fair Redux

I can't believe it!

Another classic bites the dust as Columbia Pictures officially announced that Keira Knightley is prepping to get her cockney on as the iconic Eliza Doolittle in the new version of My Fair Lady. I’ve never heard Keira sing (she just started voice lessons), but maybe that won’t matter…

Fun Fact: 90% of Audrey Hepburn’s singing was dubbed by American Marni Nixon.

Typically, skepticism abounds with remakes, but word is Emma Thompson (yes that Emma Thompson) is writing the script and Knightly’s Pride and Prejudice director, Joe Wright will be bossing her around once more. Can someone say Oscar bait? This just got interesting.

Now, who to cast as Higgins (the rumor mill is saying Daniel Craig)? I think you know how I feel ::cough:: Hugh Jackman ::cough::

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “My Fair Redux

  1. Junkie2 says:

    Another Fun Fact: Marni Nixon has dubbed almost every actress in popular movie musicals. In West Side Story she duets with herself on “Tonight” as Maria and replaced Anita’s original “dubber” after she developed bronchitis.

  2. Junkie2 says:

    Also, I don’t think it needs a remake. The original is still relevant! I’m a purist, classics like this shouldn’t be remade with hipper/current actors. Movies like “My Fair Lady” are a part of movie history and are iconic, legendary, and withstand the test of time. If they ever remade West Side Story I think I would revolt!

    Kiera’s got the chops to star in her own future classic, lets let Audrey and Mr. Harrison keep this one and educate the kiddies with something timeless.

  3. Junkie1 says:

    I am inclined to agree–Audrey Hepburn movies should never be remade!

  4. Zrose25 says:

    As far as remakes go, at least they are going with the classy route…

  5. Nobody could ever fill-in Audrey Hepburn’s shoes… she is a dazzling icon.

Leave a Reply

