P.Y.T. (Pretty Yearnworthy Thing)

Someone should but me this.

I have been on a major MJ kick since I saw This Is It last week. It is brilliant (totes brill, even) and I highly recommend a viewing post haste! I proudly admit that I wore my totally cheap, lame excuse for a rhinestone glove on my left hand and boogied like a maux faux throughout the screening.

The handmade, rhinestone glove Michael Jackson wore when he debuted the moonwalk will be auctioned off in NYC to support MusiCares on November 21. The glove to end all gloves will be in some pretty good company, too. Items from Madonna, Jimi Hendrix, Bob Dylan, Elvis, the Beatles, Rolling Stones, Aerosmith, Kurt Cobain and Janis Joplin will also be up for grabs.

The glove was donated by Walter ‘Clyde’ Orange from The Commodores, who has had it since 1983. I don’t even want to guess how much this baby will go for considering the light up version he wore on his 1984 tour sold for over $72,000 a few weeks ago. The auction is being held by Julien’s and they have estimated the piece at $40,000-60,000.

Fun fact: Back when Billie Jean was released, imitation of Jackson’s look was so intense that a New Jersey high school banned students from wearing a single white glove.

Just for fun, watch the only walk on the moon I care about: The debut of the moonwalk on the 1983 Motown 25 special (it’s at the 3:39 mark).

[Image via Etsy]

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

