Space Odyssey

We’ve been very space-focused lately. There was my personal screening of The Fourth Kind, the Leonid meteor shower, NASA crashed into water on the moon, J.J. Abrams’ Star Trek came out on DVD, and Planet 51 comes out in theaters this week. I felt the cosmos deserved to be featured in haiku–but it’s a special haiku/list hybrid wherein you will find several haiku odes to some of my favorite spacey bits in pop culture (and not of the Kevin Spacey variety) (yes, I know about K.Pax and he’s still not getting in). Can you spot them all?

Is there life on Mars?
That’s pretty freaky Bowie
This is Ground Control

Mmm, Jonathan Frakes
Meet me on the holodeck
“Damn it, Jim!” <–good line

Miners, not minors
Quick before someone kills Guy
by Grabthar’s Hammer

Jar Jar, ill-advised
Han wasn’t really solo
Chewy needs some pants

Ripley, my hero
Shit bursting from your belly
Just call Predator

Doogie killed the bugs
Why did Dizzy have to die?
Rico not Suave

Armagetiton
Just give Rockwell the Oscar
Houston…it’s all good

I need a Stargate,
a fortress of solitude,
and a briefcase car

Doug Quaid, not Dennis
Wall•E v. Zurg. Who would win?
Where’s my multipass?

Space loves animals
SJP, the chihuahua
Frank, the informant

Mork/Domo, hatchlings
Is it so wrong to eat cat?
What about cat food?

____________________
More Humpday Haiku?
All you have to do is click
Octopus delight!

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Space Odyssey

  1. Zrose25 says:

    Got another stanza for you:

    Furry no-nosed Chimp
    Eat you with his little mouth
    Hop on the tardis 

  2. buckingthewave says:

    YOU SHALL BE AVENGED!!!!!!

    i love that you included Galaxy Quest. It was the beginning of my crush on Justin Long.

  3. Zrose25 says:

    I’ll have it be known that I got all spacey pop culture references but one! Goldish star for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

