Five things I gleaned from the Remember Me trailer

Vodpod videos no longer available.
  1. Chris Cooper likes to beat young boys (see also American Beauty)
  2. This movie wastes three perfectly good accents (Brosnan-Irish, Pattinson-British, de Ravin-Australian)
  3. They will probably break up for a bit when she discovers why he started seeing her
  4. Robert Pattinson is, indeed, very hot.
  5. The manic pixie dream girl strikes again! (She has her dessert first! How magical!)

Fun (likely) Fact (that I made up today): Zooey Deschanel is the ultimate manic pixie dream girl, with at least nine roles that fit the profile:

  1. Summer, (500) Days of Summer
  2. Allison, Yes Man
  3. Harriet, Gigantic
  4. Frances, The Good Life
  5. Miss Pussy Katz, Flakes
  6. Kit, Failure to Launch
  7. Jovie, Elf
  8. Noel, All the Real Girls
  9. Kate, The Go-Getter

That means almost 30% of her film career is based in manic pixie dreamland. I haven’t seen everything she’s been in, so I am sure there are a few I missed (and more to come). I’m not hatin’–Zooey is pretty awesome. As you may or may not know, I just picked up my shiny new copy of the A.V. Club’s Inventory, and here is a taste of their fave pixies.

In other news, my Monk-ish OCD is dreading the fact that I published a list of nine items!

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “Five things I gleaned from the Remember Me trailer

  1. spitfire says:

    would her role in Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy qualify for slot #10?

    • Eralc Alegna says:

      I’m going to say yes, though it’s a little light on the manic.

      P.S. I have a friend that looks a lot like Robert Pattinson… one I totally could have hooked up with if I were ballsier. Now we’ve both been in relationships for 4+ years.
      *sigh*

    • Junkie1 says:

      Anything to make it an even ten!!

  2. […] Five Things I gleaned from the Remember Me trailer « Little Junkies […]

  3. Zrose25 says:

    Argh… Yet another manic pixie dream girl movie!?! Nothing irratates me more than a m.p.d.g. ::shakes fist at sky::

  4. buckingthewave says:

    i saw this preview at my New Moon screening. i puked a little when i heard the “what do you have for dessert? i like to eat it first”—EVEN THOUGH you prepped me for it!

Leave a Reply

