Judge a book by it’s cover. It’s what all the kids are doing…

I will admit it: I am a glutton for good design. Therefore, I ALWAYS judge books by their covers (I do the same with bottles of wine). I even hate my own books, when I see new editions with schmancy covers–especially the hardcover release of the Deluxe Heirloom Edition of Pride & Prejudice & Zombies with full color illustrations!

It’s not all bad. I’m sure some great books were faced (no pun intended) with some awful cover art; but this is a great way to try something new. And hey, if you decide the book is crap, at least you have something attractive on your bookshelf…

Anywho, I’ve recently stumbled upon the best site in the world: The Book Cover Archive. You can learn about designers, donate to the cause, and most importantly: browse book covers! There is a handy “randomizer” button, too–be warned, if you are like me, you could be on this site all day.

Here are a few of my favorites–I even own a few of them (speaking of my pretty property, you will see all of Michael Chabon’s books in the archive, because his cover art is to die for):

RIP, J.D. Salinger

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Judge a book by it’s cover. It’s what all the kids are doing…

  1. […] Book-related Diversion In Random on January 28, 2010 at 5:48 pm Hotties:  Would you like to judge a book by it’s cover?? Step right this way ___________> […]

  2. Zrose25 says:

    I am all for judging a book by its cover! One of my favorite books ever was an impulse buy because I liked the cover art 🙂

  3. […] I thought book covers were […]

Leave a Reply

