It’s here: LOST Season 6

Today is the day. It has finally arrived! No, not my fraking late-ass LOST issue from Entertainment Weekly (a publication heretofore referred to as Entertainment Whenevs)…Sorry, EW. I’m over it, because there are more important things to ponder like the long-awaited return on LOST/PERDIDOS/PERDUS/VERLOREN…you get where I’m going.

I am into this show, I cannot tell a lie. Therefore, I intend to introduce my rear to my sofa this evening and allow the grey matter to ooze out of my head post screening.

It continues to blow my mind, even when it’s not on. Just discussing the premiere on the way to work today, ZRose & I nearly popped a brain tube. Like, why Groundhog Day??

In honor of the LOSTie way, I will provide an admittedly skeptical, but ultimately intriguing set of potentially meaningful meaningless connections between one of my favorite shows of all time and one of my favorite movies of all time, Groundhog Day (beyond great casting and intelligent writing):

Philosophy.
Questioning our place in this world. Learning from our past. Right and wrong. Good and Evil. It’s all there.

An island.
Technically Punxsutawney is not an island, but both settings are basically islands, and nobody’s getting out until the “island” says so.

Unsuccessful Suicides.
Locke and Phil both tried to kill themselves, but came right back (and with a little extra faith, too).

Sneaky Literary Nods.
LOST gives you your Watership Down, A Wrinkle In Time, Turn of the Screw, Alice in Wonderland, and more. Oddly enough, Groundhog Day gives you something a little more highbrow with poetry from Sir Walter Scott & Samuel Taylor Coleridge; John Gassner’s Treasury of the Theatre: From Agamemnon to A Month in the Country and H.E. Jacob’s Johann Strauss: Father and Son, a Century of Light Music.

Numbers.
Be they 4 8 15 16 23 42, 815, or 6:00 am; these two casts can’t catch a break when a numeral is involved.

Flip clocks.
The hatch. The bedside alarm. Everything was hinged (no pun intended) on what would happen with each flip. Doom was certain. Both were defied.

Animals.
I’m going to say the LOST polar bear is equivalent to Punxsutawney Phil, because of the madness they inspire…and the fact that they both bite it. Although, Vincent is a good alternative, too. I bet Vincent could totally drive a car.

Random 1960s songs.
1965’s “I’ve Got You Babe” : Groundhog Day what 1969’s “Make Your Own Kind of Music” : LOST


Girls with long brown curly hair.
If you think blondes do have more fun, you should talk to Juliet.

A wise crackin’ blonde.
A hot southerner/prime candidate for shirtlessness Chris Elliott is not, but Sawyer and Larry do randomly elicit a chuckle or two. That said, I’m sure Sawyer could score a lot more than 25 cents at a charity auction.

Food.
Food is always a major factor when you’re stranded in the midwest or south pacific.

What similarities do you see betwixt the two? And/or how far down the rabbit hole am I?

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “It’s here: LOST Season 6

  1. Jes says:

    There is a possibility (generally speaking, a strong possibility) that after seeing the first hour of the season premiere on Waikiki beach (including the 8 minute ‘all you need to know about Lost’ bit) that I am hooked and will be watching this show (in its entirety starting at season 1) very soon.

  2. Junkie2 says:

    IT’S HERE! IT’S HERE! I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S HERE!

    I so wish you me and zrose car pooled, I was totally having that same conversation with my radio this morning ;).

    P.S.
    Just got my EW today. Glad to know I wasn’t the only one in limbo and I won’t have to have my letter carrier terminated!

  3. […] and Claire in it. David H. Lawrence is also the puppet master-powered Jason Tyminski on Heroes. In yesterday’s post I made connections between LOST and Groundhog Day. Well, Stephen Tobolowski was on Heroes and in […]

  4. rockwell says:

    I definitely enjoyed reading this write-up. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

