2010 Movie Project: January Trailers

Have you ever thought to yourself, “I have seen this trailer a hundred times” or “how many damn trailers are on this movie” or “good lord, did the projectionist who created this trailer pack have advanced delusional schizophrenia with involuntary narcissistic rage”? Well this junkie has, and decided to track all of the trailers that I see over the course of the year.

Here are some stats for January:

Most Viewed Trailer(s): I had a three way tie this month with three viewings each:

  • Cop Out – Starring Bruce Willis, Tracy Morgan, Seann William Scott. My first thought on this movie… “Is this for real?!” It seemed like the kind of movie 30 Rock’s Tracy Jordan would make.
  • From Paris with Love – Starring John Travolta and Jonathan Rhys Meyers. It took me almost the full trailer to recognize John Travolta beneath that Mr. Clean exterior .  Thinking back, I am not entirely sure what the movie is about. So I asked Junkie 1, here is her synopsis: “Some dude gets a partner who is crazy. They are in Paris. Hijinks ensue…?”
  • The Wolfman – Starring Benicio Del Toro, Emily Blunt, Anthony Hopkins and Hugo Weaving. My experience with Werewolves in movies to date consists of a bunch of poorly animated, extremely fake looking prostetic-filled duds that fail to evoke any emotion other than humor out of me. Will this movie live up to the hype… I hope so.

Longest Trailer Pack: I know its nice to have a long trailer pack in case you are running late to the movie, but this is just ridiculous. This month’s longest trailer pack award goes to Carmike Cinemas with a whopping seven trailers on The Lovely Bones. (Note: this does not include any commercials that were attached before the movie trailers)

  • Season of the Witch
  • The Wolfman
  • Dear John
  • Extraordinary Measures
  • The Last Song
  • She’s Out of My League
  • Shutter Island

As you can imagine I saw a lot of trailers, so I figured I’d try to capture my thought process to show how successful the various advertising was for me :: cue Venn Diagram-o-rama ::

What movies caught your eye this month?

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “2010 Movie Project: January Trailers

  1. Junkie1 says:

    Can I just say : Season of the Witch, The Wolfman, She’s Out of My League, and Shutter Island on the trailer pack for The Lovely Bones?! That’s effed up.

    • Zrose25 says:

      Yeah, the whole marketing campaign for the Lovely Bones was a bit messed up… I think they were trying to spin the movie into something that it wasn’t.

      • Junkie2 says:

        The book was all about what had happened to the family and what the girl was going through before she moved on, the movie was more about the mystery and the “in between” world. I was very disappointed, but knew it wouldn’t live up to what I had hoped for going into it.

        Anyone else really really want Marky Mark to tell someone to say hi to their mother for him during the movie? ( I kid, I kid…Ok not really I always want him to say that in movies now)

        Anyone else feel that Miss Weisz was extremely undercast in this film?

      • Zrose25 says:

        I actually liked the movie, maybe it’s cause I didn’t read it… the studios usually bungle stories when the make them into movies.

  2. Junkie2 says:

    Yeah so I was in line to buy a ticket at Carmike Winsong when one of the tellers took a call and told a person not to worry there was a 20 minute preshow. TWENTY MINUTE. Are you kidding me?! Previews are usually my favorite part, but I was also in a total WTF?! and “this is so wrong” state of mind during the trailer pack for Lovely Bones.

  3. Junkie2 says:

    While I totally agree with you secretly wanting to see Piranha in 3d (schedule a movie date now?!), I can’t believe you’re admitting, in graphic form no less, that you want to see Toothfairy!

    Love your 2010 movie project, let me know if you need any company this month 🙂

    • Junkie1 says:

      Hey, jest if you must, but come on! The Rock is funny and Julie Andrews! And Billy Crystal! Aaaaand Stephen Merchant?!

      I’m sure it was far superior to The Spy Next Door.

    • Zrose25 says:

      Lol! That’s why it’s in the secretly want to see! 🙂 I love the Rock, I don’t think I’ve hated a single one of his movies… That said, I think there are a few others that I’d like to see first 🙂

Leave a Reply

