2010 Oscars: Pros & Cons

I made my calls and you can check the winners here (sadly, I got zero right as expected). Anywho, the show was really entertaining; the fashion was generally enjoyable, the jokes were funny, and the politics were nearly non-existent. Here are my fave bits:

Pro: Alec Baldwin & Steve Martin

The sweetest mature bromance in history. I said it. Highlights include snubbing George Clooney, the Paranormal Activity spoof, and the two man Snuggie.

Con: Miley Cyrus

As if the oddly proportioned dress wasn’t enough, the walking advertisement for nepotism made things worse by dragging sweet Amanda Seyfried into her flub storm after she screwed up the prompter read. “We’re both really nervous–it’s out first time up here…” Nope, that was just you. Ugh.

Pro: John Hughes Tribute

Some people said Molly Ringwald looked a little robotic, but I think she was trying not to cry–something I failed at completely. It was a very touching tribute for a very brilliant filmmaker. What I was wondering was why no Emilio or Michael Keaton or Alan Ruck? Also, isn’t Matthew Broderick the sweetest man on the planet? Other actors wrapping up the tribute: Jon Cryer, Ally Sheedy, Judd Nelson, Anthony Michael Hall, and Macaulay Culkin.

Con: New Moon in the Horror Tribute

You have got to be shitting me. Also, what was up with Kristen Stewart’s hack job? I’m referring to her cough not the fact that 1991’s Silence Of The Lambs was the last horror to get Academy creds (not1973’s The Exorcist). I’ll put that blame on the event, but cover your mouth. Oh yeah, and stop calling Tim Burton movies Horrors, industry! Edward Scissorhands?!

Pro: Tina Fey & Robert Downy Jr.


I could’ve watched those to talk all night, but, alas, they were only presenting the Best Original Screenplay. Downey Jr. wins the fight, however:

“It’s a collaboration. A collaboration between handsome, gifted people and sickly little mole people.”

Watch the full clip here.

Con: James Cameron worship

Avatar wins for Best Art Direction. Whatever. The boo-worthyness stems from Art director, Rick Carter:

“Jim Cameron, this… this Oscar sees you. Clearly, your vision is so deep…”

Seriously, people. Try to get a job on your own time. Oh and did everyone really need to point out it was the most successful movie ever made?

Pro: The Up crew’s grape soda pins

Homage doesn’t get cuter than this.

Con: These Dresses

Pro: Ben Stiller goes native

I was about to say this was a con, given my distaste for Avatar, the fact that it wasn’t up for Best Make-up (the award Stiller was presenting), and that I didn’t think anything could top his 2006 green screen goof for Best Visual Effects. That is, until he said this:

“‘I see you [James Cameron], I want to plug my tail, my braid, into your dragon.”

Other Pros:

Best Actor/Actress costar tributes–especially Colin Farrell reminiscing about spooning with Jeremy Renner & Stanley Tucci calling out Meryl Streep’s “unseemly selfishness” in Best Actress nominations.
Best Actor/Actress acceptance speeches–especially Jeff Bridges honoring his parents and Sandra Bullock honoring “the moms that take care of the babies and the children, no matter where they came from.”
Best Director award finally goes to a deserving (and humble) woman, Kathryn Bigelow. Happy International Women’s Day!
Best Score interpretive dance–especially the Up themed robot.
Best Sound Editing/Mixing explanation narrated by Morgan Freeman
Opening number by Neil Patrick Harris
Good fashion–especially Sandra Bullock, Cameron Diaz, Rachel McAdams, Queen Latifa, Elizabeth Banks, Demi Moore, and Robert Downy Jr.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “2010 Oscars: Pros & Cons

  1. Zrose25 says:

    Lol! Sickly little mole people… I am still laughing about that. 🙂

  2. spitfire says:

    I loved the UP grape soda pins!! I noticed them at the Golden Globes and was really hoping they’d wear them again. Should I ever doubt Pixar? No.

    I was also really really really excited that The Cove won Best Documentary!

    • Junkie1 says:

      I was happy to see The Cove win, too. But the cut away from the Dolphin support poster was a con for sure. They’re just trying to save dolphins, people.

Leave a Reply

