2010 Movie Project: March Data

The March edition of the 2010 Movie Project data is in! It took me a while to crunch these numbers–mostly because it’s nice outside and we’ve been busy livin. The most surprising thing I found was that it was March madness, indeed. So far, this is the most movie-tastic month of the year, and I can hardly believe we’ve done so much in 31 days. We’ve been reading more, exercising more, listening to more music…and obviously watching more movies.

What a difference some extra sunshine makes! As always, the listing of all the March movies at the end of the post (after the jump) & ZRose will do her trailer pack rundown tomorrow. On with the numbers!

Movie Delivery Vehicles

I generally enjoyed myself at the movies last month. My picks for best theatrical releases: How to Train Your Dragon and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (I also liked Alice in Wonderland, The Ghost Writer, The Runaways, and Hot Tub Time Machine). The worst: The Bounty Hunter. Fun sidenote: Gerard Butler was our most seen actor in March–he showed up four times, in fact. Technically, his fourth appearance was his voice work in How to Train Your Dragon, so we only saw him three times (The Ugly Truth, Gamer, and The Bounty Hunter). Incidentally, the more time I have to think about The Bounty Hunter the more I hate it (except for Siobhan Fallon–she was hilarious as per usual).

We’ve also been having a good time at home, too. Dipping into our personal collection and enjoying Netflix Instant Queue on our Blu Ray player–which in my opinion is the only good thing about a Blu Ray player. Surely the most shameful thing we did last month was watch Year One…twice.

The Genre Breakdown

It’s pretty simple; I just scored the first two genre tags from IMDB for each movie I saw and plopped them in the pie chart…Mmmmm pie chart. There was a lot of drama this month. Yes, I know this little pie is clearly full of comedy, but you should know that’s only because we watched some INTENSE dramas last month–we needed something to break it up. I had my own personal struggle with how much I enjoyed The Ghost Writer considering it was directed by the odious Roman Polanski (the same struggle I had when I saw The Pianist back in the day). Movie karma got me good, I think. Allow me to apologize for the awful segue, but speaking of sexual assault/exploitation…I read and watched the rather brutal and utterly gripping mystery of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, watched a crew of hard-nosed teens get exploited in The Runaways, and sat through an uncomfortable coming-of-age journey in Fish Tank. Happy Women’s History Month!

Average Rating

I don’t know if it’s an accomplishment, but we watched a lot of R rated movies in March (all the dramas for the most part).

Random Bit of Trivia

Last month, we broke out one of my all-time favorite movies: Can’t Hardly Wait. Minnesota’s own, Charlie Korsmo–yes, the kid from Dick Tracy and Hook–made a return to acting after retiring in 1991 at the ripe age of 13 for this, his seventh and final credit. Korsmo was attending MIT when he was offered (and subsequently nailed) the role of the overachieving, super geek, William Lichter. He went on to graduate with a 4.0 in Physics from MIT and gain a J.D. from Yale Law School. He’s worked for the EPA, the Missile Defense Team, the House Republican Policy Committee, and as a visiting professor of Law at Brooklyn Law School. Way to go, Billy!

Full list o’ movies (in order):

Mrs. Winterbourne
Conspiracy Theory
Year One
The Royal Tenenbaums
Alice in Wonderland 3D
A Serious Man
The Stepfather
Beyond Sherwood Forest
Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian
Gentlemen Broncos
The Great Buck Howard
Gossip
Macgilivray Freeman’s Arabia
So I Married an Axe Murderer
Gamer
The Ghost Writer
Bright Star
Alex & Emma
The Ugly Truth
Ghost Town
The Commitments
Year One
Un Prophète
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Emma
The Runaways
The Bounty Hunter
The Twilight Saga: New Moon
Funny People
Hot Fuzz
Repo Men
Diary of a Wimpy Kid
New York, I Love You
As Good As It Gets
Fish Tank
How to Train Your Dragon 3-D
Twilight
Hot Tub Time Machine
Urban Legend
Shanghai Noon
Yes Man
Can’t Hardly Wait
The Truth About Cats and Dogs
Sweet Home Alabama

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “2010 Movie Project: March Data

  1. Zrose25 says:

    My best and worst pick for movie(s) watched:

    Worst: Gentlemen Broncos and Beyond Sherwood Forest

    Best: How to Train Your Dragon and Hot Fuzz

Leave a Reply

