No Heroics Creator: I Want to Runaways

See below the trailer for UK comedy series No Heroics. The show is about four “off duty” superheros and their “love lives and day-to-day trials.” To me it plays like Mystery Men meets The Incredibles, but with snarky Brits. What do you think? (Also, it’s not on Netflix yet…curses!)

Of course “we” tried to remake it. A pilot was commissioned by ABC with Freddie Prinze Jr. It wasn’t pursued further. Nuf said.

Why am I bringing this up now? Well the series creator, Drew Pearce, was just hired to write the script of the upcoming film adaptaion of Marvel’s Runaways comic series. Seeing that clip alone makes me eager to see what else Pearce can cook up. But who are the Runaways (because I have a feeling it doesn’t involve Joan Jett)?

I didn’t know much about that storyline, so I hopped over to the Marvel wiki to “read all about it,” as they say. The fruits of my non-laborious labor left me wishing I was in the know on this gem a long time ago:

The teens who became the Runaways found that some family secrets are bigger than others when they witnessed their parents, part of a cabal known as the Pride, murdering a young girl during a secret sacrificial ritual. Running away from their homes, the group banded together and began a journey of discovery, both of their parents’ origins and of their own inherited powers. Arsenic found she could control her time-traveling parents’ dinosaur, which she named Old Lace; Sister Grimm took her mother’s magical Staff of One, with which she could cast any spell, but only once; the mutant Bruiser found that with puberty came super strength; Lucy in the Sky learned that she was an alien with energy powers; Talkback took several of his mad scientist parents’ weapons; however, Alex Wilder, possessing only his own natural genius, retained use of his real name.

You had me at dinosaur.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “No Heroics Creator: I Want to Runaways

  1. Eralc Alegna says:

    For what it’s worth, the boyfriend LOVES that series.
    I could probably convince him to let me loan you a few ; )

Leave a Reply

