Yessssssss: BRODYQUEST

Have you ever noticed how, at random times, everything you do is connected or one person/thing is “just everywhere?”

For example: I randomly caught a repeat of Bored to Death last week, the hi-larious HBO comedy starring Jason Schwartzman and Ted Danson (don’t get me started on my messed up obsession with Ted Danson’s GLORIOUSLY white hair). Then ZRose and I watched Steve Guttenberg’s hilarious guest role as Steve Guttenberg on Party Down–So. Good. The next day we watched one of my fave 80s movies, Tom Selleck’s Her Alibi. On Tuesday, I was rolling about work-related incident where someone performing a test on one of my websites submitted some dummy text confessing their love for Tom Selleck and his short shorts. They apparently didn’t realize that verifying the forms are functioning properly meant that we have to read the test submissions. And yes, I know exactly who hearts Magnum-era Tom, his baseball bat, and his organic avocado farm (mwahahaha). On Wednesday, Mr. Baseball himself confirmed there’s a Three Men and a Bride in the works–a continuation of the nostalgia-inducing franchise starring, get ready for it, Ted Danson, Steve Guttenberg, and Tom Selleck!

Weird, right?!

In. to. it!

All that to say, it happened again, but this time it was all Adrien Brody! I watched The Village a few nights ago–haters, beware, I think this is a great movie that didn’t get a fair shake because unoriginal whiners considered Shyamalan their little plot twist puppet that would endlessly churn out one Sixth Sense after another. When you sit back and give his movies a fighting chance, they are all quite interesting stories (and well told ones at that).

Rant over.

Anyway, watching that movie reminded me how much I like Adrien Brody and how excited I am for Splice, because I have a mad hankering for sci-fi at the moment…which naturally leads me to discussing Peter Jackson’s King Kong with anyone I can force to hear my in-defense-of-it argument for the millionth time (why do people hate that movie?). That was really the first time I thought: Brody. Yes.–a thought that was shot straight through my heart (and Brody’s to blame) when I saw The Brothers Bloom.

I cannot tell a lie: I think Adrien Brody is unconventionally ultra foxy. Not necessarily in The Village, but by the end of a good number of his films I am completely smitten. He catches a lot of flack for his looks–like all the silly people who were up in arms when he nabbed the lead in the Predator reboot (which looks awesome!). He’s certainly not your Adonis cast in marble kind of guy but, he’s got a unique way about him that is supported by expressive eyes and major acting chops. When he needs to be the leading man, he leads (…and I swoon). Think I’m crazy? Well, more Adrien for me, then…

All that Brody-worship exploded today when, while pouring through my extensive blogroll, I came upon the most amazing thing ever: BRODYQUEST! It might change your life:

So those are my two, rambling stories of odd coincidences in popular culture this week. What random connections have you made lately?

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Yessssssss: BRODYQUEST

  1. Zrose25 says:

    Lol! I am in a Brodytrance!!

  2. spitfire says:

    so i tried to find a clip of this, but it doesn’t exist.
    BUT: do you remember an episdode of SNL in which there was an Adrian Brody fan club filled with “teenage girls” all screaming and wearing Adrian Brody t-shirts? I swear it was real! I hope i’m not losing my mind.

Leave a Reply

