I Can Be a Freak

I don’t typically love reality tv. I watch it–I’m not a snob about it. I just tend to find reality tv entertaining in a way that wouldn’t cause me to exclaim “OMG I LOVE that show!!!!!!!!!”

That said, OMG I LOVE So You Think You Can Dance!!!!!!!!! The show’s special pre-competition performance show aired last night and I am already in lurve. The major difference this season is they only have 10 contestants vying for the title of “America’s Favorite Dancer” opposed to the traditional 20, and they’ve mixed in “all stars” from previous seasons to act as the professional partners for the contestants. Basically, it’s more like Dancing With the Stars now, but with far superior dancing, choreography, and costumes in a wide range of styles (not just ballroom). Oh and there is WAY more crying as a result of the artistry being so good/challenging/expressive/inspiring.

The second best thing about this show is the music. I decided to blip my favorite song from each week this season to pay homage. It was a hard choice because the opening group number by Wade and Amanda Robson was not only a divine and somewhat Alice in Wonderland-inspired freaky croquet match, but it also was to the tune of DAVID EFFING BOWIE’s Fame! Alas, there was a more jammy jam that I’ve had in my head all night. Without further ado, I give you my favorite musical bit of the night from super freak choreographer Sonya Tayeh’s jazz routine:

Estelle – Freak Ft. Kardinal Offishall

Favorite Lyrics:

“I can be a freak every day of every week/Every single girl should embrace their inner freaky freak.”

Also, I am running with my early favorites, Wapokoneta-native, Kent Boyd–the sweet bumpkin with wicked talent–and Jose Ruiz, the self-taught B-boy from Miami with no training in other styles. It should be an interesting season given the decreased number of competitors, the fact that there is only one ballroom dancer and one hip hop dancer this season, and that I have already found it difficult to not focus on the all stars (I missed you, Neil Haskell)!

Tagged ,

One thought on “I Can Be a Freak

  1. Zrose25 says:

    Man that is sooooo going to be stuck in my head! 🙂

Leave a Reply

