Comic Con, a harsh mistress

Oh, San Diego!
Comic Con, a harsh mistress
Me, out of the loop

If you love movies and tv and comics and gaming and celebrities and people watching, you would love Comic Con. The 2010 Con officially started today, and I’m not there, and I’m in withdrawal…in the way that each article I read on all my trusted, fellow pop culture-y blogs about events at Comic Con is like taking a tiny, poison-tipped Hellboy horn to the gut. Am I over-reacting? I mean I’ve only been to Comic Con once before (last year), right? I can read about it online anyway, right? It will all be okay…right?

No! The Con is like crack. I am Junkie numero uno. Now, kids, is crack good for junkies? I don’t care–I feel like Smeagol. We wants it, we needs it. Must have the precious. They stole it from us. Sneaky little real jobses. Wicked, tricksy, false! I’m in a hate spiral; a totally geeked out, dork festival is happening at my house in an attempt to keep my mind off of all the fun I could be having just wandering the exhibitor hall, talking to and photographing some of the coolest people (or salivating all over the Scott Pilgrim Experience happening all four days of the Con). Remember how I met Antonio the Great at Comic Con last year? And how he got me into the last Lost panel that would ever be? …Good times.

Anyway, back to the aforementioned “totally geeked out, dork festival”…I’m systematically watching every (non-animated) Batman movie in existence (yes, I own them all), and it’s going to culminate with an in-home screening of Adam West’s EPIC Batman: The Movie this Saturday. I’m reading all of the Scott Pilgrim volumes (#6 is waiting on my stoop as we speak). Pat Rothfuss’ new graphic novel The Adventures of Princess and Mr. Whiffle best be en route from Amazon or I’m going to go postal, no pun intended. I’ve exclusively restricted my wardrobe to quippy Threadless T-shirts. We’re catching up on the best little web series this side of the blogosphere, The Guild. I might eat this week’s issue of Entertainment Weekly when it finally arrives (until then, I have the latest issue of Empire to annihilate). I also fully intend to play Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash Up on the Wii this weekend. Oh, and speaking of old school Batman and gaming, guess what you can preview at Comic Con this week. Le sigh…

It’s sick. I might wind up blogging from a cardboard box in the near future, wearing tattered blue jeans, a wife beater, and these; talking to myself on a Star Trek “communicator” I fashioned out of discarded RealD 3D glasses, my old Motorola MegaPhone, and a Twizzler with all my Mighty Muggs in tow…”Kirk to Enterprise, five to beam up!”

So, how are things with you?

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Comic Con, a harsh mistress

  1. Antonio says:

    Earlier today I turned to my fiancé and told her I was bummed that every story in my rss reader was about comic-con. I think I’m going back next year.

Leave a Reply

