Pop! Goes My Heart.

OMG! Am I starting the most awesome club of all time (apart from the No Homers, that is)? Yes!

Riddle me this, internet people: Do you like reading bits? Looking at stuff? Listening to other things? Talking (typing) to others about that schtuff?  Then the Pop! Culture Club is the club for you. Consider it low impact socializing and horizon broadening.

The Skinny

On the first of each month, I’ll announce a theme and items up for discussion. The “items” will be a mixture of movies, books, graphic novels, magazines, tv shows, music, web bits–your standard junkie fare. Every Friday, I’ll pick an item and put it up for discussion on the blog. Now, for Minneapolis-area junkies, we will also schedule a special field trip each month to get together and chat it up.

For a sneak-peekity, August will be the first official month and the theme is “Embrace Your Inner Geek.” It’s the perfect theme to kick off the club, because it’s what I’m all about–accepting your inner geek means you are okay with yourself, having fun, and talking about it. Example items for August: As many volumes of Scott Pilgrim as you can fit in and a field trip to ye olde theater on Friday the 13th to soak up the seven evil exes in Edgar Wright’s Pilgrim-y adaptation. Epic! Stay tuned…

Karma Karma Karm-on Over

Okay, don’t hold my stretch of a Boy George Culture Club joke against the Pop! Culture Club. So, how about it junkies? Do you want to be in my club? It’ll be here, every Friday beginning August 6th, and you can follow along and jump in when you like.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Pop! Goes My Heart.

  1. Junkie2 says:

    I dig it! Count me in for the field trip too!

  2. Junkie2 says:

    OMG I’m in love with the graphic on the right. I bow down to your pop culture goodness. All hail Junkie1!

  3. Spitfire says:

    WHAM!
    another reason to bemoan our geographic incompatibility.

    • Junkie1 says:

      I’m thinking I might get a hankering to do a themed month this fall that requires viewings of, I don’t know, National Treasure or Night At The Museum 2 or Dick or Forrest Gump or Contact or St. Elmo’s Fire or…Mr. Smith Goes to…Washington!!

  4. Jes says:

    Whee!!! Count me in!!

Leave a Reply

