PS3 Games are soooo Batman!

Welcome to Zrose-corner for the first ever “That’s So Batman”! Before I get into this month’s topic, I feel I should explain what exactly something being “Batman” really means.  Allow me to provide a little background into how Batman went from being a noun to an adjective. I would love to say I came up with this gem, but I must give credit where credit is due. To the guys who created The Venture Bros., one of the most Batman shows ever, you are comedic geniuses and I salute you. Check out this clip from the season 4 episode titled The Revenge Society.

Batman (bat-man)
Adj.
1. deserving the highest esteem
2. having great power, prestige, or influence
3.a: inspiring Batman’s power, prestige, or influence
b: terrific, extraordinary

1. We had a Batman time at the concert.
2. You did a Batman job on that project.
3. The movie was totally Batman!

So now that we got that out of the way, lets move on to the most Batman thing on my mind right now.  My newly acquired PlayStation 3! As J1 has said before, we are either way ahead of the pack on things or way behind. So we are just now getting into the awesomeness that is the PlayStation. Thanks to GameFly, an online video game rental site (think the Netflix of video games), I have been trying out all sorts of fun games. My weekend productivity has suffered a bit, but on the plus side my gaming productivity has skyrocketed. My top three favorite games so far are: Batman: Arkham Asylum, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and InFamous. I greatly enjoyed countless hours playing these games despite the fact that my dreams were riddled with Croc Monsters, Demon Yeti and Reeper goons.

Casting Corner

Over the course of our gaming adventures J1 and I got to talking about how we would totally be into an Uncharted or InFamous movie. As it turns out  Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune (2013) is listed as “In Development” and there have been rumors flying around for the past year that Sony Pictures is/was working out a rights deal to do an InFamous movie. So since neither movie has been cast yet , we decided to share our picks for each.

Uncharted: Nathan Drake

Nathan Drake is an unassuming and clever treasure hunter that happens to be related to famous explorer Sir Francis Drake. The apple of Drake’s eye: the mysterious El Dorado (City of Gold).  Along for the ride are attractive documentarian Elena and Nate’s womanizing, old school buddy Sully. Sully just so happens to love loan sharky debts that bring in the baddies also hunting for the fabled city of gold as payment. Following clues left by Sir Francis Drake, everyone makes their way to a freaky deserted island (…or is it?).

Expect to see lots of shooting, free climbing, and sleuthing.

ZRose's Drake pics

Zrose25: I think my first pick is fairly obvious, I can’t imagine a player out there who didn’t compare the two at some point during game play. Two Nathans! Fillion totally fits the bill with Drake’s quippy sense of humor, good looks and over all bad-ass-ness. Now I know what you are probably thinking, as it came up in our casting debate, isn’t Fillion a little old for this role? I really don’t think so, first off he is only 39 which is only a 3 years older than Gerard Butler was when he played King Leonidas in 300, or for that matter the exact same age that Harrison Ford was when he first donned the famous fedora as Indiana Jones. Furthermore his filmography is filled with a diverse array of characters ranging from a Space Cowboy to Evil Doing Former Priest to the hilariously hatable Captain Hammer. I think he would be up to adding Nathan Drake to his repertoire. My second choice is Bradley Cooper. Why, because he is smart, funny and smokin’ hot. I don’t know that I would have picked him had you asked me this a year ago, but seeing him play Lt. ‘Faceman’ Peck in the A-Team cinched it for me. He was totally buff, nicely tanned, super funny, and not afraid to shoot a few baddies.

One bit of mutual agreement did come out of our debate, J1 came up with (in my opinion) the perfect actor to play Drake’s friend and mentor Victor “Sully” Sullivan. She named none other than one Bruce Campbell. After she said it, I thought it over and for the life of me couldn’t come up with better alternative. Sully is described as a great raconteur, his stories are always believable enough that people will invest in his schemes… tell me that doesn’t that just scream Bruce Campbell?

J1's Drake Picks

Junkie1: Well…I have three fellas in mind for the smart, sassy & strapping Nate Drake (essentially the love child of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft). Yeah, that’s right, I cast Jesus. Jim Caviezel has the looks and the bod, and I would really like to see him get a roll that brought out his comedic side. Why so serious, am I right? Numero dos, Alex O’Loughlin. He is my middle man, because I think he’s got the perfect blend of action-y prowess and comedic timing. Also, video game movies can be a gamble; one that my other two picks might find too risky at this point in their careers. O’Loughlin takes risks , and he could utilize a big budget action flick to strengthen his name with American audiences.

Last, but never least, Chris Pine. Why? Because he’s young, popular, and funny (and dreamy). Let’s be honest here, kids. Hollywood would shock my socks off if they took a franchise-ready movie and cast an older actor (effectively knocking Fillion and Caviezel out of the mix). We live in a world where superhero patriarchs like Superman and Captain America are played by actors under 30.

inFAMOUS: Cole McGrath

Cole McGrath is a bike courier for Empire City (like NYC but three islands versus five boroughs). Cole happens to be at the center of an explosion from a bio-electrical device that wipes out a huge chunk of the city and kills lots of people–including his girlfriend’s sister. A plague develops and the government quarantines the city–blocking the only bridge that leads to the mainland. Cole miraculously survives the blast and gains electricity-based super powers. “The Voice of Survival” broadcasts fear-mongering messages like a one man Fox News and smears Cole’s name across town, labeling him a terrorist. Shortly after the explosion, Cole meets with FBI agent Moya, who enlists him to find another agent named John (who just happens to be her husband). Cole comes across three others with super powers like himself while trying to solve the mystery, clear his name, and save the city. All three are bad and all three have their own messed up henchmen.

Expect to see a lot of electrifying blasts, freaky junkies (the bad kind), and free climbing/falling. Also, secret society alert!

ZRose's Cole Picks

ZRose25: What I like about Cole McGrath is that he is definitely not a good guy, while some how not the vile evil-doer either. That said I tried my best to think of someone who could play on the dark undertones of his character. Honestly first guy to come to mind was Jason Statham. Why? Well, because when you think shaved head gruff action hero you either think of him or maybe Bruce Willis. I wanted to think outside of the Statham box, especially since quite a few of his flicks, while admittedly enjoyable ::cough:: In The Name Of The King: A Dungeon Seige Tale ::cough::,  kinda flopped in the box office. So my first pick ended up being Dominic Purcell. You probably know him best for his role as Lincoln Burrows in Prison Break, Drake in Blade: Trinity, or my favorite the title character from John Doe. He has no problem playing a dark brooding character who you cant help but be drawn to. He hasn’t had a ton of experience as the lead in a major picture, but I think if he was cast in a movie like this he would definitely be able to carry it. Bonus, he definitely can rock a shaved head. My second pick was Ben Foster. Four of his previous roles really made this pick, Mars Krupchek in Hostage, Charlie Prince in 3:10 to Yuma, The Stranger in 30 Days of Night, and Bower in Pandorum. He really has a like-ability factor that is just unexplainable, even when playing the antagonist you are kinda rooting for him in a way.

Junkie1: Here’s the important thing to remember about Cole: he’s got to have the potential to be an antihero, because the game has a karma meter that let’s you decide if he’ll be good or bad (and that can change throughout the game). I doubt the film would go one way or the other, which is why I say antihero. I think they’ll write a character like Rorschach from Watchmen, essentially good (maybe even the best) but a guy that employs some very questionable means to reach the just end. Anywho, I took Ryan Gosling on partly because I wish I would’ve nabbed Ben Foster before ZRose, but also because he needs to bust out of the indie scene in a big way. I’m sure he’s nice and cozy there, but mix it up, man. He’s also well equipped to play a character like this–he’s done the antihero thing many times.

Unlike my Uncharted picks, there is no middle ground guy in this mix. Each has a different edge to bring to the project. Next, I call ZRose’s Ben Foster and raise you his Pandorum costar, Cam Gigandet. He is more than ready to get a leading role, and I’d like to see him get one to be honest with you. Cole is by no means as quippy as Nate Drake, but he is pretty snarky. If you saw Easy A, you know that Gigandet is funny and Pandorum let us check out his mental/evil side. It’s a slight risk for a studio to buy into, but not near as risky as my next pick. Yes, people of the internet, I think Seann mutha-effin William Scott could rock this role. Cole has to do a lot of acrobatics and one of the few awesome things about Cop Out was SWS’s home burgling parkour. I also think it would be interesting not to turn Cole into a funny man, but to turn Seann into a total bad ass. I’m kind of (really) into it. Also, Cole has a doofy best friend named Zeke that has a Southern accent. It would be kind of awesome to cast Johnny Knoxville as Zeke and bring the Duke boys back together again–it is a tale of redemption after all.

What say you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “PS3 Games are soooo Batman!

  1. MichaelC2B says:

    Alex O. es mi numero uno!!!

  2. Jes says:

    You are so Batman!! Also, Bruce Campbell = awesome 🙂

  3. Tony says:

    i think Foster and Gosling are better as Electro. No to Pine as Drake but yes to Nathan Fillion. Fillion even looks like a young Harrison Ford.

    • zrose25 says:

      You are right! Fillion totally DOES look like a young Harrison Ford. I was kinda shocked to see how old he was when he filmed the Indiana Jones movies.

      I hope they do end up making both movies though, even though I know they probably wont get it exactly right. 🙂

      • Tony says:

        Ya, for some reason those guys in hollywood always find away to mess up a perfect franchise, like the Last Airbender for example. But since inFAMOUS and Uncharted have a large fanbase, the pressure is on. I always imagined an Uncharted movie as a cross between Indiana Jones and National Treasure.

      • Junkie1 says:

        That would be a most excellent style mash-up! My hope is that Hollywood can avoid Tomb Raider/Transformers and focus on The Dark Knight/Iron Man. So, not cartoonish in other words..

Leave a Reply

