WTF Friday: Wolverine Haters

Hate on this!

We did the fantastic midnight showing thing this morning, and decided–after some much needed napping–to finally read some reviews. I must say, what is with all the hatin’ goin’ on, people?

Don’t get me wrong I could point out a few things that frustrated me. Gambit was a major letdown, Will.i.am. was meh, and why (WHY!) does everyone feel the need to kill Dominic Monaghan? Other than that, I dug it. You dig?

  • I got to geek out in all the best ways.
  • I saw Hugh in many states of undress.
  • I laughed.
  • I swooned over Liev Schreiber.
  • I enjoyed Ryan Reynolds.
  • There was enough sass in the dialogue to last me through the summer.
  • Excellent choice of “cameo mutants”
  • Post-credits delights!

To sum up, I would totally see it again. That is how I felt after seeing the other X-Men films (yes, even Rattner’s), and that is just the mark of great characters and storylines. It’s pretty refreshing to see super heroes with more humor. Batman lends himself to graceful, dreary, darkness; but some characters don’t. I like that Wolverine didn’t attempt to jump on the “uber dark superhero” bandwagon like all of the other posers (::cough Bryan Singer’s new Superman::). Think of it like Iron Man…and before you get all “Wolverine was no Iron Man” just remember that Iron Man had a totally bankable, well-known cast (and brought Robert Downey Jr. back into our hearts) and that the X-Men movies/characters (Wolverine more than any other) were the first to breathe much-needed life into the superhero genre in years.

Let’s not fite, though. How about we all go watch some superheros eff shit up?

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “WTF Friday: Wolverine Haters

  1. spitfire says:

    DUG IT!

    I was happy to see not 1 but 2 Losties on the big screen! (I completely agree with you about Dominic’s inability to live… sort of like how James Marsden always plays jilted lovers – shitty typecasting.)

    Honestly- when i first saw Ryan Reynolds onscreen, i turned to my fellow movie-goers and said “REALLY. Ryan Reynolds??” But after the initial shock, it was easy enough to get over it. It was wayyyy more difficult to get over Keamy’s– I mean The Blob’s– fat suit. It was ridiculous in a bad way.

    Spoiler alert: It was only slightly disappointing to learn that the plot of Heroes was pretty much exactly the same as the plot of Wolverine… come on, hollywood, let’s make with the creativity a bit here…

    • Junkie1 says:

      A-greed! Now let’s all give a (OMG-I totally love you-I wish you were single) hand to Liev Schreiber. He’s a sexy little kitten–a sex kitten, even.

Leave a comment